The Causeway School was built in 1915 by Lord Mc Naughtan of Runkerry, replacing a previous school which had been situated at what is now the Nook restaurant.
A local man Brian Bolt shared a collection of school photographs from his time at the Causeway Memorial School in the 1950s, with the Uncharted Histories project.Brian remembers his time at the school fondly and remembers his schoolmates well.
The school building was designed by eminent architect Clough Williams-Ellis, who is famous for designing and building the unique village of Portmeirion in Wales. The Causeway school closed it doors in 1962 and later became a museum, which was visited by many school children in the Causeway Coast and Glens area until 2013. In 2019 the school building was transferred into the ownership of the National Trust for restoration.
This record was collected as part of Causeway Coast and Glens Heritage Trust’s Uncharted Histories of the Causeway Coast Project. Please click here to learn more about this project.