This image of Ballintoy Church was submitted to the Uncharted Histories project by Chris Lundy and shows Ballintoy Church c.1946. Mr Lundy’s father, Rev. St. George Lundy, was the rector at Ballintoy from 1946 to 1952 and took this photograph. Today, Ballintoy’s striking white façade is iconic along the Causeway Coast but in this photograph the building is painted black. This was to avoid the church being used as a landmark for enemy submarines or aircraft during World War II.
It was during Rev. Lundy’s tenure at Ballintoy Church that electricity was first installed, prior to this the Reverend’s first task every morning was to clean all the oil lamps in preparation for evening.
This record was collected as part of Causeway Coast and Glens Heritage Trust’s Uncharted Histories of the Causeway Coast Project. Please click here to learn more about this project.