

ANTRIVICOUNTY TEAN

Hurling

Antrim are the dominant force of Ulster hurling and it is played in more clubs than in any other county. They have won the Ulster Championship 53 times, only failing to reach the final on three occasions.

In 1943, three Loughgiel players were on the Antrim side which become the first team from Ulster to reach the All-Ireland Hurling Final. The match ended in disappointment, with a dominant Cork side, featuring Christy Ring, defeating them 5-16 to 0-4.

Antrim came close to Croke Park again in 1984 & 1987, before finally returning in 1989. There was strong local representation on the Antrim team sheet and after a good start, Antrim lost once again, although Aiden McGarry of Loughgiel scored a memorable goal. Local clubs continue to provide players and enjoy success with the county team.

Football



Most Rev. Dr. Mageean, Bishop of Down and Connor gives the Antrim players a few words of encouragement before the All-Ireland final against Cork. The two sides exchanged gifts of tea and butter before the match.



ntrim line up in front of a packed Croke Park for the 1943 All-Ireland Final against Cork. Bughgiel players John Currie, Paddy McGarry and Samuel Mulholland started the game th Mulholland grabbing one of the few Antrim points.



he 1989 Antrim team which reached the All-Ireland final that featured Niall Patterson, ominic McKinley, Dominic McMullan and Aiden McGarry from Loughgiel and Dunloy's iary O'Kane has been described as one of the best that the county ever produced. In the emi-final, Offaly provided a guard of honour as they left the pitch.





Antrim defeated Warwickshire 4-18 to 3-06 at Croke Park in 1970 to w hurling trophy, the Intermediate Championship.





Were the first great power in Ulster football winning six titles in a row between 1908 and 1913. Moreover, in 1911 they were the first team from the Province to reach an All-Ireland final, appearing again a year later against Louth; unfortunately they lost on each occasion.

> Ulster titles came in 1946 & 1951 followed by an All-Ireland U21 Championship victory in 1969. Since then, footballing success has largely evaded the Saffrons; a Tommy Murphy Cup win in 2008 a notable exception.

Camogie

Antrim are one of only seven counties to have won an All-Ireland Championship including three in a row between 1945 and 1947. Péig Dooey of Dunloy appeared in all three victories. During this run, four Cuchullains players and two from Loughgiel brought home winners medals.

In 1956, Antrim defeated Cork to once again lift the O'Duffy Cup. Dunloy's Madge Rainey was captain and joined five of her teammates on the side. Cloughmills born goalkeeper, Theresa Kearns played an outstanding match and, at 14 years old, is the youngest player to win an All-Ireland medal in any code. Following their final senior title in 1979 which featured several Loughgiel players, Antrim's recent All-Ireland success has been limited to Intermediate and Junior level.



inic McKinley of Loughgiel points for Antrim in the Centenary Cup first round defeat





Dunloy provided half the Antrim team that won the 1956 All-Ireland title. Pictured are Winnie Kearns, Madge Rainey, Eilish McCamphill, Ethna Dougan, Teresa Kearns, Agnes Dillon and coach, James Kearns.

A delighted Colm McGuckian of Dunloy lifts the trophy for Antrim's third National Hurlir League Division 2 title following a 3-18 to 3-12 victory over Kerry.



Olcan 'Clute' McFetridge played for Loughgiel during the 1989 season and won an All-Star award for his performances in the Antrim side that year.



Antrim won two of their famous three in a row at Corrigan Park in Belfast. They were only the third county to win the O'Duffy Cup since its formation in 1932.

