

## ROE VALLEY W.I.

Women involved in family, friendship and community

## Limavady Women's Institute

On November 19th, 1946 a preliminary meeting called by Mrs. Hunter, was held at the Technical School, Limavady where the unanimous decision amongst the 47 present was made to form a Women's Institute in Limavady.

The Formation meeting of Limavady Women's Institute was held in the Technical School at 7.30pm on December 10th 1946. After a few words on Committees by Mrs Mercer, Organising Secretary, Federation of Women's Institutes of Northern Ireland, the 53 members present decided to elect a committee of 12.

The 12 elected committee members were:

Mrs. G. Brolly Mrs. Moffatt
Mrs. Gough Mrs. Mullan
Mrs. Hunter Miss McConnell

Miss Hunter Mrs. Macrory (elected President)

Mrs. Irwin
Mrs. O'Hanlon
Mrs. Kyle
Miss Rea



Cutting the Golden Anniversary cake for Limavady W.I. at their celebrations in Limavady Town Hall are Eileen Gough, founder member, Jean Blair, Federation chair, and Marlene Milner, President of Limavady W.I.



Mrs Kathleen Black, outgoing President, presented a chain of office on behalf of the past presidents of Limavady W.I, to the current President, Mrs Eileen Bloomfield on the occasion of their 40th anniversary. Included In the photograph are, front row: Mrs Jeannie Brown, Mrs Helen Dodds, Mrs Helen Livinston, Mrs Doreen Nicholl (Executive member), Mrs Margaret Taylor. Back row: Mrs Anne Gray, Mrs Eileen Gough, Mrs Pat Kershaw, Mrs Ivy McClelland, Mrs Kathleen Black, Mrs Eileen Bloomfield, Mrs Hilda Clements, Mrs Jean Canning and Mrs Maureen Magowen.

©David Larmour



Limavady W.I. Committee 1979-1980. Standing: Helen Dodds, Anna Thompson, Pat Kershaw, Ella Rainey, \_\_\_\_\_, Nan Whyte, Agnes Trimble. Seated: Avril Haine (Treasurer), Hilda Clements (Vice President), Ivy McClelland (President), Jeannie Brown (Secretary).
©David Larmour